h1

July was good to me.

August 1, 2010

Ok, I know it’s officially August, so I’m a tad late in updating my 101 list, but I had a good month. So I’ll take a bit of grace. On to the list:

13. Give heather flowers 5 times

So not too much to this one. I was thinking of my lovely wife on my way home this week, so I decided to stop by the store and get her some flowers. I know she’s been dealing with a lot these past few months, so I always like to try and make her day a little more special.

20. Watch the sun set from a quiet place with heather

So this one wasn’t exactly quite, but it was fun. We were on my parents sail boat for the 4th of July and were hanging out in the harbor ready to watch the fireworks. Well they can’t shoot off till the sun is down obviously. So we went out to the bow of the boat and sat down to relax. We got to watch the sun set from the boat, it was pretty nice. It’s not often that we have the time/location to watch the sun go down. We definitely need to do this more often.

24. Get every achievement in 1 Xbox 360 game

This one actually took a lot longer than I thought it would. For those  not in the know, achievements are something you get for playing an Xbox game. It usually  involves completing  a specific task. Some are easy, but some are also really hard. Anyway, I played a game called Assassin’s Creed 2, which had 50 achievements. It probably too me around 30-40 hours, but I got every one of the achievements. This was the first time I was able to do this. It’s a huge load off, because I’ve played probably 20-30 games and the closest I’ve come is 47/50.

26. Try 10 new board games

For my birthday my sisters got me the board game Agricola. It’s another abstract strategy game. I had been playing it only, but it’s nice to finally be able to play it with the components. It’s a lot of fun and pretty hard to master. I’m still working out strategies.

58. Juggle fire for someone who hasn’t seen me do it before

This one will go hand-in-hand with the next one, but it’s one I can cross off the list. In college I was part of the Juggling Club. So there I learned how to juggle balls, clubs, rings and torches. We used to have a lot of fun juggling fire. I haven’t done it in about 6-7 years, so it was nice to be able to dust off the old clubs and entertain people (and maybe start some lawn fires 🙂 ).

62. Throw a big summer bash

So every year, we used to throw a nice summer bbq. But last year, since I was unemployed, we didn’t do it. We had a lot of request to have another one so we had to oblige. It’s always a great time to get everyone together. And, of course, I used this year’s bbq to try out my fire juggling. Maybe it will be better next year…

89. Drink a bottle of wine from every continent (except Antarctica)

So this one, I’ve actually been forgetting to update. So to round it out, we’ve now polished off bottles of wine from Aulstralia, Europe (italy), South America (Chile), North America (California), and Asia (Sake from Japan). So all that is left is to dig up a bottle of wine from Africa and I’m set!

96. Get a new Bears jersey for me and heather

So this one is almost done. For my birthday this year, my parents got me Jay Cutler bears jersey. We are all hoping he will be the QB of the next 15 years for the bears. The lase good QB we have had was Jim McMahan in the 80’s. Scary I know. Here’s hoping to a great season for the bears and cutler.

Well that’s it for this month. A nice selection of finished items. I have less than 2 years to go, but I’m almost 1/3rd of the way there. I can’t wait to knock a few more of these off.

2 comments

  1. Nice job! Glad you are sticking with this and I’m also glad that I got to witness first hand you completing several on this last update!!


  2. Now that you have Agricola, you have to get veggie-meeples and ani-meeples at Gen Con.



Leave a Reply

